Disney Concept of Love

To compare the standards of love between different cultures is almost never the same. I like that love can be interpreted in many different ways and not everyone has to be living a Disney Fairytale. As a North American I have been brainwashed by this concept of love that involves a Prince Charming sweeping me off my feet and us living happily ever after..

But I think that is the problem with “American” love. That is the reason why we have the highest divorce rates and are so opposed to non-traditional marriages. We are brainwashed into thinking that love only looks one way and if our love isn’t picture perfect, then we jump to the conclusion that it’s not right.

However I can’t exactly show you what I think love looks like. I don’t know if I’ll know when I’ve found it. Everyone had their elementary school crush that they swore they were in love with. But what is love and does it follow strict guidelines?

Just a little food for thought.

One thought on “Disney Concept of Love

  1. Lauren- It’s so cool that you are already challenging these prescribed ideas about love. A lot of people are already deep into adulthood and maybe even marriages before they start questioning these notions. Who cares if you don’t know what love looks like? Each generation seems to re-paint the picture. It’s so exciting!

Leave a Reply

